ARCUREA AWARD FOR THE BEST CURATORIAL PROPOSAL

Sponsored by NFDC

As part of Arcurea 2024, awards will be presented to the Best Curatorial Proposals.

A four-member jury that includes a representative from NETPAC will select the best proposals from among those submitted by the workshop participants.

A NETPAC award for the Best Curatorial Proposal will also be presented.

Jury members:



Sanil V.

Sanil V. is Professor of philosophy at the Department of Humanities and Social Sciences, Indian Institute of Technology, New Delhi, India. He obtained his bachelor's degree in Mechanical Engineering and worked as a scientist in the Defense Research and Development Organisation. In 1995, he obtained his PhD in Philosophy from Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur. His recent publications include *Kolayude Koreography* (Choreography of Murder), *Public Sphere from Outside the West* (ed. Bloomsbury, London), *Time Passing: Kant*

Goes to Movies, Mathematical Idea and Cinematic Image, Special Effects and Reality, The Map of Objects (On Sergey Parajanov) He teaches courses on Art and Technology, Philosophical perspectives on Fascism, and Philosophy and Film.

He was the Watumall Distinguished Professor at Dept of Philosophy University of Hawaii, USA, Charles Wallace Fellow at the Department of Philosophy, University of Liverpool, U.K and Directeur d'études Associés, at Maison des sciences de l'homme Paris, Research Excellence Fellow, CEU Budapest, Scholar in Residence, Kerala Council for Historical Research. He also writes and publishes in Malayalam.



Anindya Sengupta

Anindya Sengupta is Assistant Professor at the Department of Film Studies, Jadavpur University where he has been teaching for the last 20 years. His doctoral thesis was on auteur criticism and Satyajit Ray. His research interests include cinematic realism, auteur criticism,

cinemas of Satyajit Ray, Ritwik Ghatak and Mrinal Sen and genre films. He regularly writes on cinema, media and culture. He has also authored a science-fiction novel titled *Aparthibo* and an anthology of science-fiction stories.



Patrick Campos

Patrick F. Campos, a film scholar, critic, and associate professor at the UP Film Institute, studied cinema and literature at the University of the Philippines and the University of Westminster in London. He authored *The End of National Cinema*, edits Pelikula: A Journal of

Philippine Cinema and Moving Image, and programmes the Tingin Southeast Asian Film Festival. Campos co-organizes the Association for Southeast Asian Cinemas Conference. He is involved in various film festivals, including Singapore International Film Festival, Kolkata International Film Festival, Guanajuato International Film Festival, QCinema International Film Festival, Jogja Asian Film Festival, Madani International Film Festival, Cinemalaya Independent Film Festival, Cinema One Originals, Image Forum Tokyo, Minikino Bali, Asian Film Archive Singapore, Cultural Center of the Philippines, Museum of Contemporary Art and Design Manila, SeaShorts Kuala Lumpur, Cinema Rehiyon, Gawad Urian, among others.

Campos' work challenges notions of 'national' and 'regional' cinemas, in the Philippines and Asia. He has curated for institutions like the Cultural Center of the Philippines and participated in events like Cinema Rehiyon and Gawad Urian, contributing significantly to the discourse on Asian cinema. He is a member of NETPAC and FIPRESCI.



C. S. Venkiteswaran

C.S. Venkiteswaran is an Indian film critic, professor, documentary filmmaker, and writer. His writings on film and media, in English and Malayalam have been published in journals including Deep Focus, Film International, Cinema in India, Bhashaposhini, Pachakuthira,

Indian Express, The Hindu, Mathrubhumi among others. He won the National Film Award for Best Film Critic in 2009 and for Best Arts/Cultural Film for the documentary film, *Pakarnattam* in 1995, jointly with M.R. Rajan. He is the Artistic Director of the Signs film festival for short films and documentaries. He was a jury member for best writing on cinema at the 60th National Film Awards.